Gamblers Anonymous Forum

Full Version: Please give me some advice
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

D1984

Hi there,

I dont know where to start really. I have been gambling now for about 5 or 6 years, im 25 years old, and the addiction first started when I was out uni. I got introduced by a friend at the time to football bets and a few other things. We started by placing bets weekly trying to win extra money for the week, and just a bit of fun i guess.

The more this went on the bigger the bets got, and the more frequent it became. I would win the occassional bet and think it was easy so started to make bigger bets to win more. I didnt win for ages. I ended up spending student loan / overdraft and applying for more as the months went by. Nobody was aware of what I was doing but me.

Once I left uni I left with debts bigger than most because I had a number of overdrafts. I went straight into work after this and got into a relatively well paid job, but spent most of my wages either trying to win money to pay these overdrafts off, or paying charges that were being incurred for not paying them. This started to just get worse, and charges got bigger.

I started to apply for loans, and my mom started to get suspicious about all these loan companies calling and mailing. At this time I didnt tell her about the gambling, just explained the debt. I started to repay this slowly, but just began to wonder how quick it could be repayed if I won a bet, so continued to gamble at the same time.

About 6 months ago I told my mom of my problem, and she helped clear my debt, with the intention that I was going to repay her each month, as she couldnt afford it but could get credit to do it. I had just started a new job. so felt this was a new beginning for me and I was so happy I told her.