Gamblers Anonymous Forum

Full Version: How do you know if they are an addict?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Hi,

I'm new to this and I'm looking for some advice please. I want to know if my boyfriend is an addict. He plays online poker. He plays first thing in the morning before work and is often late for work because he gets involved with his play, this is normally for an 1 and a half. Then when he comes home, he plays for another 2 or so hours. At the weekend it is much worse. Again in the morning, then if we aren't going out he will play all day. When (!) he is not playing he visits forums to improve his play etc. I have no idea what his money situation is like, sometimes he does tell me about what is has been like on the tables, but mostly I can not talk to him whilst he is playing or about how it has gone.
I feel it takes up all his free time and he devotes most of his energy to poker. Through play or research. We have tried to reduce play time, have 1 night off a week etc, but he always slips back to his default position. He knows how I feel about it. We are due to be married soon, I don't want to marry a man who invests more time in virtual cards than his wife!

So any advice or suggestions please? Thanks

westy

Hi Pinki

Great to have met u other day on ga chat. One thing that is very important for ga to help your b/f is.... That HE needs to accept that he has a problem then he can be encouraged to get along to a ga meeting where he can hopefully start a new life without gambling. I feel what you must be going through Pinki and I hope other family members of gamblers will reply to your thread and offer support and suggestions for you.

Hi,

Try asking him these 20 quesitons from the GA book. Compulsive gamblers are good at hiding their debts. I would suggest getting everything out in the open before you get married.