Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can I really stop?
Good evening all
I've been gambling for the last 7 years, sort help before with counselling sessions and only stuck it out for a few, with my job it was difficult to commit, however on looking back I really was't ready to stop. I have literally flown back from a 4 day binge in Las Vegas , I thought I could control it, I thought I can handle it, but what should of been a good experience turned into a nightmare of a time. I never felt more helpless and alone until I got home and looked on here. Firstly thanks for running this forum, it's given me hope, I'll research some meetings and get involved as much a S much as possible to beat this. Day 1!
Toddy,
Welcome to the family.
Last time you tried to stop, did you consider a GA meeting?
In our meetings we hear all the time people who have tried to stop, who have done the counseling route for all the wrong reasons. When it's your time you will know,hopefully that is now!!
You will find it a great help and support if you can get to a GA meeting and meet and talk to others who are just like you and I fighting daily if not hourly to not bet.
The differences between us and you Toddy is we have been given and learnt how to use the tools to aid us in making the decision not to bet.
Hope we see more of you on here and you can tell us about your first meeting.
It's a long road this recovery road mate and there is no end to it, however your life gets better and better the further you travel on it!!!
Take care.
Mick.
Cheers Mick! I must get a laptop because my iPhone is not very compatable and just deleted a massive text! Thanks for your message , I will be attending and will stay in touch!
(03-08-2016, 10:28 PM)Toddy83 Wrote: Cheers Mick! I must get a laptop because my iPhone is not very compatable and just deleted a massive text! Thanks for your message , I will be attending and will stay in touch!

Great to hear toddy...