Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
My name is Simmo
My name is Simmo and I am a compulsive gambler, I've been attending GA weekly since April 2016 and recently joined the forum. 

This is my second time reaching out to the GA rooms and this time I intend to stay.

I spent years in denial and that I could tackle this illness on my own.  I went to GA 12 years ago for a few months, but didn't stick to it, I was heavily in denial and constantly looked for differences between myself and everyone else in the room.  I didn't gamble every day, I was what you would call a binge gambler, short sharp spurts of gambling that were progressively damaging and increasing in their intensity.  But just because I didn't gamble every day or think about it every day, I didn't find myself itching for that next bet, I created a disassociation with everyone else in GA.  "I'm not the same as them" "My gambling isn't that bad" "I can control it"  All delusional thoughts but I'm only now able to see that.   Unfortunately, the denial at that time was too strong and the delusional thinking resulted in another 12 years of gambling, losing girlfriends, a house, lots of money, lots of time, I became emotionally vacant, destroyed my self-worth, self-esteem, self-confidence, and eventually crashed into severe depression and considered taking my own life.

I am a Son, Father to 3, husband,  Grandson, Brother, Uncle, friend, colleague and it was through thinking about how I would leave everyone else feeling with me gone that kept me from carrying out my thoughts.  I didn't care about me, I had fallen out of love with myself.  "I'm just an idiot who causes chaos, causes a storm in what was a calm sea"  "I'm a failure"  "I can't control myself"  "I can't do this anymore" "They will be better off without me"  All thoughts that would spin around in my washing machine head.